Wheel of the Pagan Year

The Wheel of the Year is celebrated as the natural cycle of the seasons, commemorated by the eight Sabbats. In Paganism all of nature is cyclical, the passing of time is a cycle, represented by a circle or wheel. The course of birth, life, decline, and death that we see in our human lives is echoed in the seasons.

The Eight Sabbats

Pagan Wheel of the Year"The eight Sabbats are holidays that celebrate the passing of the year. Each Sabbat also symbolizes a time in the life of the Wiccan God, who is born from the Wiccan Goddess, grows to full manhood, mates with her, and reigns as king during the summer. He then declines and dies, rising anew the next year."

Pagan Holidays - Celebrations - Festivals

The dates of the various Pagan Holidays in the Wheel of the Year change from year-to-year and even differ in the northern and southern hemispheres. The dates given here are for reference and example only. They are provided to assist one in approximating the time of the year in which the particular holiday is observed. For more specific information on the dates of celebration, please visit our Pagan Calendar

The Sabbats (Seasons of the Witch)

  • Samhain - Samhain (OCT-31)
  • Yule - Winter Solstice (±DEC-21) - Alban Arthan, Saturnalia, Yule, Christmas
  • Imbolc - Imbolc (JAN-31 to FEB-02) - Bride's day, Candlemas Day, Groundhog Day
  • Ostara - Vernal Equinox (±MAR-21) - Alban Eilir, Eostar, Eostre, Lady Day, Ostara
  • Beltaine - Beltane (APR-30)
  • Midsummer - Summer Solstice (±JUN-21) - Alban Hefin, Gathering Day, Midsummer, Vestalia
  • Lughnasadh - Lammas (AUG-1)
  • Mabon - Fall Equinox (±SEP-21) - Alban Elfed, Mabon, Autumn Equinox, Harvest Home
  • Year Wheel - Pagan Wheel of the Year

Recommended Reading

Popular Spell Books

Custom Search